What is a Purple Cap in the IPL?

The Purple Cap will be worn while fielding by the bowler who has taken the most wickets in the league (including the Playoffs) during the season to date.

The Purple Cap is an honor bestowed upon the cricketer who has taken the most wickets during a season of the Indian Premier League (IPL). Bowlers strive to win this prestigious award because it recognizes their dedication to getting wickets and advancing their team’s cause. The name of the cap comes from the fact that it itself is purple in hue. 

The bowler who won the Purple Cap has since worn it throughout each IPL season since it was first debuted in 2008. Every game, the top three bowlers with the most wickets are displayed on-screen with their current wicket total, providing viewers a glimpse of who is in the lead for the Purple Cap that particular year. Many bowlers have claimed ownership of this prized cap over the years, but a select few have repeatedly retained it thanks to their consistent play over several seasons. 

In addition to improving a bowler’s reputation and job prospects, winning this prestigious award can also result in financial rewards from sponsors or even recognition from cricket governing bodies like the BCCI or ICC. For many professional cricketers, winning this honor would undoubtedly rank as one of their career high points. It is also likely to rank as one of cricket’s most thrilling competitions for many years to come.

IPL Purple Cap 2023 Table

Below is a table with the statistics of the best players in 2023 at the moment.

1🥇 Mohammad ShamiGT1717655222811/418.648.0313.92
2🥈 Mohit SharmaGT141444.13612710/513.378.179.81
3🥉 Rashid KhanGT1717675522730/420.448.2314.88
4Piyush ChawlaMI1616614952222/322.58.1116.63
5Yuzvendra ChahalRR141452.54322117/420.578.1715.09
6Tushar DeshpandeCSK161656.55642145/326.859.9216.23
7Ravindra JadejaCSK1616574312020/321.557.5617.1
8Varun ChakaravarthyKKR141452.44292015/421.458.1415.8
9Mohammed SirajRCB1414503761921/419.787.5215.78
10Matheesha PathiranaCSK121246.23711915/319.52814.63
11Arshdeep SinghPBKS141450.54931729/4299.6917.94
12Ravi BishnoiLSG151450.33911628/324.437.7418.93
13Noor AhmadGT131347.13691637/323.067.8217.68
14Bhuvneshwar KumarSRH1414514251630/526.568.3319.12
15Ravichandran AshwinRR1313493681423/226.287.5121
16Akash MadhwalMI8825.3219145/515.648.5810.92
17Jason BehrendorffMI1212423871423/327.649.2118
18Harshal PatelRCB1313474541432/332.429.6520.14
19Trent BoultRR1010383121329/3248.2117.53
20Deepak ChaharCSK1010342971322/322.848.7315.69

Rules for Purple Cap in IPL 2023

The Purple Cap is presented to the bowler at the end of the innings in which he achieves this feat (either at one of the flash interviews or at the post-match presentation).

The criteria for choosing who will don the Purple Cap in IPL 2023 stay the same. This coveted award will be given to the bowler who has taken the most wickets at the conclusion of the regular season. In each Indian Premier League season, the spinner with the most wickets is given the Purple Cap. Runs allowed, dot balls thrown, and wicket-taking deliveries are some of the variables that affect wickets. 

Throughout the entire IPL 2023, there will be intense competition among bowlers vying for the top spot on the leaderboard and, ultimately, claiming victory with their purple headgear firmly on top. 

By demonstrating exceptional talent over every match and staying consistent through to the final outing, bowlers have an opportunity to prove themselves as one of IPL’s greatest performers – proudly wearing their Purple Cap!

All IPL Purple Cap Winners

The Purple Cap will be retained or awarded, as appropriate, to the bowler (of those who are tied) who has the lowest economy rate during the season to date.

Here is a table of all Purple Cap holders in the Indian Premier League (IPL) from 2008 to 2023:

YearPurple Cap HolderWickets
2008Sohail Tanvir22
2009RP Singh23
2010Pragyan Ojha21
2011Lasith Malinga28
2012Morne Morkel25
2013Dwayne Bravo32
2014Mohit Sharma23
2015Dwayne Bravo26
2016Bhuvneshwar  Kumar23
2017Bhuvneshwar  Kumar26
2018Andrew Tye24
2019Imran Tahir26
2020Kagiso Rabada30
2021Harshal Patel32
2022Yuzvendra Chahal26
2023🥇 Mohammad Shami28

IPL 2023 Orange Cap Holder – Mohammad Shami (GT)

The current Purple Cap holder in the Indian Premier League (IPL) is Mohammad Shami, playing for Gujarat Titans. He has been in flawless form in the 2023 IPL series, scoring 28 wickets in seventeen matches at an economy ratio of just 8,03.

With superior line control and length, Mohammad Shami has shown that he can be effective even when bowling with flat wickets. His ability to take wickets at crucial moments resulted in his team often winning close matches.


📌 Who won a Purple Cap in the first IPL?

In 2008, the inaugural season of IPL, Sohail Tanvir of Rajasthan Royals was the recipient of the Purple Cap after managing 22 wickets in 11 matches.

📌 Who is the winner of Purple Cap in IPL 2023?

In the 2023 Indian Premier League, Mohammad Shami of Gujarat Titans was awarded the Purple Cap for his impressive performance. He scored 28 wickets in 17 matches with an economy rate of 8.03.

📌 Who is the winner of Purple Cap in IPL 2022?

In 2022, the Purple Cap was awarded to Yuzvendra Chahal of the Rajasthan Royals. He emerged as the highest wicket-taker in the tournament with 27 wickets in 17 matches. He had a remarkable economy rate of 7.75 runs per over.

📌 Who is the winner of Purple Cap in IPL 2021?

In the 2021 Indian Premier League, Harshal Patel was awarded the Purple Cap for his impressive performance.

📌 Who won Purple Cap in IPL 2019?

In 2019, the Purple Cap was awarded to Imran Tahir of the Chennai Super Kings. He emerged as the highest wicket-taker in the tournament with 26 wickets in 17 matches. He had a remarkable economy rate of 6.69 runs per over and his best bowling figures were 3/18 against Rajasthan Royals.

📌 Winner of Purple Cap in IPL 2018?

The Purple Cap for the 2018 edition of the Indian Premier League was awarded to Andrew Tye of Kings XI Punjab. He had a remarkable season and managed 24 wickets in 14 matches, which included three four-wicket hauls and a five-wicket haul.

📌 Who has the most Purple Cap in IPL history?

Both Indian seam bowler Bhubaneshwar Kumar and West Indies T20 legend Dwayne Bravo have earned the Purple Cap twice in the IPL’s history, setting a milestone for most Purple Cap victories.

📌 How many Indians have won the Purple Cap in the IPL?

At the moment, only 4 Indian players have won the purple cap, namely RP Singh – 2009, Pragyan Ojha – 2010, Mohit Sharma – 2014, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar – 2016,2017.

📌 What are the benefits of being a Purple Cap holder?

Being a Purple Cap holder comes with a variety of benefits that can greatly enhance the lives of those who hold it. Purple Cap holders are eligible for exclusive discounts and deals on products, services, and experiences. These discounts can be used for travel, dining out, entertainment, shopping, and more. Additionally, many businesses offer special perks such as priority seating or invitations to exclusive events.