Who won yesterday’s IPL match 2022, KKR vs MI – Match 14?

In yesterday’s IPL encounter at the Maharashtra Cricket Association (MCA) Stadium in Pune, the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) defeated the Mumbai Indians (MI) by five wickets. Set a target of 162, Kolkata cruised to victory in 16 overs, with Pat Cummins equaling the fastest IPL fifty. After Andre Russell was dismissed in the 14th over, Cummins came into bat. At that point, the score was evenly poised, with Kolkata requiring 61 from 41 balls. Cummins, on the other hand, was unstoppable with his big-hitting, smashing an undefeated 56 off only 15 balls, including four fours and six sixes, to make a mockery of the aim.

Who won yesterday's IPL match 2022, KKR vs MI - Match 14?

To begin the 14th over, he hit a six and four off Tymal Mills. Following that, Jasprit Bumrah was clattered for a six and a four. Mumbai still had a chance with 35 required off five overs. It was short-lived, as Cummins bludgeoned Daniel Sams’ first four balls for 6,4,6,6.

The KKR hitter was caught off a high full toss that was deemed a no-ball, adding to the excitement. By stroking a slower ball to deep square leg for four, Cummins equalled the record for the fastest IPL fifty (14 balls). Cummins used the extra ball in the over to seal the match in style, smashing another length delivery over the bowler’s head for a six.

In their chase of 162, Kolkata got off to a bad start, losing Ajinkya Rahane (7) in the fifth over. With his first delivery, Mills got a wicket when the KKR opener miscued a pull. In the same over, the left-arm seamer could have got Shreyas Iyer, but Ishan Kishan couldn’t hold on to a chance down the leg. The KKR captain, on the other hand, did not stay long. He mistimed a short ball from Sams and was caught at square leg after making ten runs. Kolkata’s powerplay finished with a lacklustre 35 for 2.

Late surge lifts MI to 161/4 against KKR after a slow start

The Mumbai Indians rallied from 55 for 3 to score a competitive 161 for 4 thanks to a fourth-wicket stand of 83 between Suryakumar Yadav (52 off 36) and Tilak Varma (38* off 27). MI battled for rhythm in the first half after losing the toss, but Suryakumar, Varma, and Kieron Pollard (22* off 5) delivered the finishing touch.

Before top-edging an attempted pull off Umesh Yadav, MI captain Rohit Sharma (3) appeared out of sorts. Dewald Brevis (29 off 19) looked promising in the middle, hitting a couple of sixes before being stumped by Varun Chakravarthy’s bowling.

IPL 2022, KKR vs MI: Who won Man of the Match yesterday?

Suryakumar got his IPL 2022 campaign off to a flying start, blasting a typically aggressive half-century. After a difficult first half, his innings provided Mumbai new direction. Varma kept his form going with an undefeated 38 off 27. MI’s top bowler of the day was Ashwin, who had statistics of 2 for 25.

With 1 for 25, Yadav was Kolkata’s best bowler once again. He was economical in dismissing Mumbai captain Rohit. After losing early wickets, Venkatesh Iyer held the innings together with his bat. Cummins then entered the game and stole the game from MI’s grasp. For his spectacular half-century and two wickets, Cummins was named Player of the Match.